Matyjaszewski, Prof. Krzysztof

Krzysztof (Kris) Matyjaszewski is J.C. Warner University Professor of Natural Sciences at Carnegie Mellon University and Professor at Technical University in Lodz, Poland. He discovered Cu-mediated atom transfer radical polymerization, commercialized in 2004 in US, Japan and Europe. He has co-authored >1,000 publications (cited 99,000 times, h-index 151), co-edited 20 books, >90 book chapter and holds 62 US patents. He is the editor of Progress in Polymer Science. Matyjaszewski received 2017 Franklin Medal in Chemistry, 2015 Dreyfus Prize in Chemical Sciences, 2014 National Institute of Materials Science (Japan) Award, 2012 Prize of Société Chimique de France, 2012 Maria Curie Medal, 2011 Wolf Prize in Chemistry, 2009 Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Award, and from the American Chemical Society: 2015 Overberger Prize, 2013 AkzoNobel North America Science Award, 2011 Hermann Mark Award, 2011 Award in Applied Polymer Science, 2002 Polymer Chemistry Award, 1995 Creative Polymer Chemistry Award. He received eleven honorary degrees (Ghent, Lodz, Athens, Moscow, Toulouse, Pusan, Paris, Haifa, Poznan, Coimbra and Padova) and is a member of National Academy of Engineering, Polish Academy of Sciences, Russian Academy of Sciences, honorary member of Israel and Chinese Chemical Society and a fellow of National Academy of Inventors, IUPAC and American Chemical Society.